PDA

View Full Version : bs2 servo control



Let's Go!
09-23-2008, 07:57 PM
can the bs2 operate any 4.8v servo with the 3 pin connection?

Zoot
09-23-2008, 09:26 PM
Yes, with a few caveats. You do not want to use the Stamp's onboard power supply (Vdd / 5v) for the servo(s). Use a separate power supply or an outboard regulator that can handle all the power.

The Stamp pin would be hooked up to the signal pin of the servo (yellow on hitec cables, white on futaba cables).

PULSOUT is used to send pulses approx. every 20 milliseconds, with pulses being from approx. 1ms to 2ms wide.

Download "Robotics with the Boe-bot" from the Parallax site which contains numerous examples of servo control. You do not need a Boe-bot, naturally, but the text will provide a wealth of information.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro. -- HST

1uffakind.com/robots/povBitMapBuilder.php (http://1uffakind.com/robots/povBitMapBuilder.php)
1uffakind.com/robots/resistorLadder.php (http://1uffakind.com/robots/resistorLadder.php)

Let's Go!
09-23-2008, 10:39 PM
would i also connect the stamp ground and the extra pwr supply ground together?

allanlane5
09-23-2008, 10:42 PM
Yes, you absolutely must connect the extra power supply ground, and the BS2 supply ground together.

Let's Go!
09-23-2008, 10:56 PM
thanks for the info...