PDA

View Full Version : How to Connect MAX232 to PBASIC2/P directly? Anyone have any reference design?



CGTan2020
09-04-2008, 05:10 PM
How to Connect MAX232 to PBASIC2/P directly? Anyone have any reference design?

best regards,

CGTan

allanlane5
09-04-2008, 09:18 PM
http://www.kronosrobotics.com/xcart/product.php?productid=16167&cat=261&page=1

Post Edited (allanlane5) : 9/4/2008 3:54:46 PM GMT

Dgswaner
09-04-2008, 10:36 PM
http://sodoityourself.com/max232-serial-level-converter/

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
DGSwaner

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
"When in doubt, use C4" - Jamie Hyneman, Myth Buster

steve_b
09-04-2008, 10:52 PM
Here's a circuit I use with a MAX232 and an opto isolator.

(the bmp version wouldn't upload....hope this one is clear).

Cheers

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
<FONT>Steve



What's the best thing to do in a lightning storm? "take a one iron out the bag and hold it straight up above your head, even God cant hit a one iron!"
Lee Travino after the second time being hit by lightning!

stamptrol
09-05-2008, 01:05 AM
A MAX233 is attractive as it doesn't need the 4 external capacitors.

Also, an ST232ACN is a low cost substitute for the MAX232, but it does use the 4 capacitors.
Application notes available at www.hvwtech.com.

Cheers,

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Tom Sisk

http://www.siskconsult.com

CGTan2020
09-05-2008, 07:08 AM
Many thanks to All. How about to link USB directly to the PBASIC2/P? Any good and proven IC with the detail schematic? My system need to run 24 hours and 365 days for monitoring purpose.