PDA

View Full Version : pot controlled servo



Let's Go!
08-02-2008, 05:01 AM
How does one control a 38v, 12amp servo with a bs2. i wish·to use the pot controlled servo program as seen in the parallax manual on page 156. thanks. jimhttp://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/jumpin.gif

allanlane5
08-02-2008, 05:11 AM
What is the control signal supposed to look like?

If it's a "standard" servo interface, that means the control line should get normally zero volts, with a 1 to 2 mSec wide pulse (depending on the desired output position of the servo) repeated every 20 to 50 mSec.· A 1.5 mSec pulse means "Centered".

For this to work, the commanded servo's "ground" line and "signal" line should be connected to the BS2 -- the "ground" line to Vss, and the "signal" line to an I/O pin.

38Volts and 12 Amps is a LOT of torque, so be careful.

Post Edited (allanlane5) : 8/1/2008 10:16:25 PM GMT

Let's Go!
08-02-2008, 05:28 AM
thanks for the reply. does that mean i can·connect directly to the servo control line with my basic stamp, or do i need to go thru some kind of interface. thanks a lot.....jim··

allanlane5
08-02-2008, 08:22 AM
It means you MUST read the interface documentation of the servo you have. IF the signal it calls out matches what I've said above, you CAN connect the servo control line to a BS2 I/O pin.

IF (as seems probable) there's some other higher voltage control signal, you'll need some interface.

But only you (by reading the documentation) can determine if the control signals match.

Let's Go!
08-02-2008, 06:48 PM
i understand, and thanks for your time and expertise. jim