PDA

View Full Version : Two versions of IDE simultaneously (working)



Cluso99
05-11-2008, 05:45 PM
Does anyone know if it is possible to run 2 versions of the IDE (in Vista) simultaneously?

I tried the obvious, but the IDE only allows one instance.


(see my post 13 May 2008 below for·full details·of how to get it running) http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/cool.gif http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/cool.gif

Post Edited (Cluso99) : 5/14/2008 4:44:16 AM GMT

Timothy D. Swieter
05-12-2008, 06:11 AM
I am curious, why do you need two IDE's? The current IDE allow multiple tabs and can do split screen as well.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Timothy D. Swieter

www.brilldea.com (http://www.brilldea.com)·- check out the uOLED-IOC, an I/O expansion for the uOLED-96-PROP
www.tdswieter.com (http://www.tdswieter.com)
------------------------------------------------------------
One little spark of imagination is all it takes for an idea to explode

Cluso99
05-12-2008, 09:01 AM
I have an FT2232C board (2 serial ports to USB) and 2 proto boards.

I would like to be able to download code into both boards.

One can monitor the other, etc.

Chuck Rice
05-12-2008, 09:14 AM
I do this all the time. Goto Preferences, Files and folders tab, uncheck associated files launch into a single editor.

Cluso99
05-12-2008, 11:22 AM
Thanks Chuck - now workinghttp://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/cool.gif http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/cool.gif

Cluso99
05-13-2008, 06:54 PM
Attached are photos of my 2 Proto Boards working to a USB FT2232C PCB mounted on vero board.

I have jumper links for each sideto in the A & B (serial) sides independently to...

1. Select +3V3 or +5V I/O

2. Disable DTR signal (prevents Hyperterminal from resetting the propeller)

Two additional pin headers for each TXD & RXD pairs. This allows me to...

1. Test the FT2232C in loopback

2. Test the FT2232C from channel A to B and visa versa

3. Snoop either the TXD or RXD on one channel to the RXD on the other channel.

This is achieved by a 2 wire header cable.

I have 2 instances of the Propeller IDE running under Vista. (Enabled from the Propeller IDE Edit/Preferences/Files & Folders/ uncheck Associated files launch into·single editor - thanks to Chuck)

My Proto Board has a single LED for testing purposes (see my post "Test Proto Board with 1xLED + simple spin code").

Enjoy http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/cool.gif

Now for some serious programming...... http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/roll.gif