PDA

View Full Version : SD card hookup question



grindel
05-04-2008, 04:03 AM
OK, I have qty 10 of the 10K ohm resistors in the house and I am trying to bread board up the SD card using an old floppy drive cable. if I had two more I could run two in series for each pull-up line to get teh 20K...that much I understand. Am I going to hurt anything by having the 10K ohm resistors instead of the 20K ohm resistors? I can't quite figure out if I can use some other resistor to supply all 6 of the 10K resistors and get the same effect?

Thanks all for your patience...I will continue reading online to see if I can figure this out myself.

Oldbitcollector (Jeff)
05-04-2008, 04:11 AM
I've personally hooked up the Propeller to SD without resistors and have
had it work fine. (Take a look at the Cookbook link below)

On the other hand, I suspect that 10K resistors would be just fine too,
and in fact my first design incorporated back-to-back 10K resistors
to obtain the 20K value.

OBC

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
New to the Propeller?

Getting started with the Protoboard? - Propeller Cookbook 1.4 (http://ucontroller.com/Propeller%20Protoboard%20Designs%20for%20the%20Beg inner.pdf)
Updates to the Cookbook are now posted to: Propeller.warrantyvoid.us (http://propeller.warrantyvoid.us)
Got an SD card? - PropDOS (http://www.orrtech.net/propdos/)
A Living Propeller FAQ - The Propeller Wiki (http://propeller.wikispaces.com/)
(Got the Knowledge? Got a Moment? Add something today!)

Matthew Hay
05-04-2008, 05:57 AM
That appears to be all that SpinStudio card uses is 10k resistors

http://ucontroller.com/documentation/SDCardDoc.html

grindel
05-04-2008, 08:41 AM
thanks for the help. Success! I was trying to wire off the diagram from the FAT16 routines with secure digital card layer from the object exchange. It says to wire it as such:



'      
'       20k
' p0 ────────┻─┼─┼─┼─┼─┼────── do
' p1 ──────────┻─┼─┼─┼─┼────── clk
' p2 ────────────┻─┼─┼─┼────── di
' p3 ──────────────┻─┼─┼────── cs (dat3)
' 150 └─┼────── irq (dat1)
' └────── p9 (dat2)




I just wired it off instruction on oldbitcollector's page. (a wonderful resource)

Awesome.

Now i need more than one keyboard so I don't have to keep switching b/w computers hehehehe.

Oldbitcollector (Jeff)
05-05-2008, 12:47 PM
Glad you are up and running! Hit the local thrift/secondhand store for a keyboard.
(They always have them around her for $1.00 :)

Then give PropDOS or PropBASH a "spin" -- SD is one of the neatest addons yet.

OBC

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
New to the Propeller?

Getting started with the Protoboard? - Propeller Cookbook 1.4 (http://ucontroller.com/Propeller%20Protoboard%20Designs%20for%20the%20Beg inner.pdf)
Updates to the Cookbook are now posted to: Propeller.warrantyvoid.us (http://propeller.warrantyvoid.us)
Got an SD card? - PropDOS (http://www.orrtech.net/propdos/)
Need a part? Got spare electronics? - The Electronics Exchange (http://warrantyvoid.us/exchange/)