PDA

View Full Version : WiPort - Anyone used it before



computer guy
01-15-2008, 08:19 PM
Hi,

Just wondering if anyone has used the WiPort or WIPort NR with the propeller before.

WiPort - www.lantronix.com/device-networking/embedded-device-servers/wiport.html (http://www.lantronix.com/device-networking/embedded-device-servers/wiport.html)

WiPort NR - www.lantronix.com/device-networking/embedded-device-servers/wiport-nr.html (http://www.lantronix.com/device-networking/embedded-device-servers/wiport-nr.html)

Thank you http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Check out my robot using the propeller RECONAUTOR (http://robot.tmcp.com.au)
If you like my avatar then check this out Propeller Domed Sticker (http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=701193)

simonl
01-15-2008, 08:30 PM
I think someone has (can't find a post at the mo'), but you need to watch that current draw if you're on batteries - up to 650mA!

I seem to remember someone also mentioning heat from it (but that might have been something else).

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Cheers,

Simon
-------------------------------
www.norfolkhelicopterclub.co.uk (http://www.norfolkhelicopterclub.co.uk)
You'll always have as many take-offs as landings, the trick is to be sure you can take-off again ;-)
BTW: I type as I'm thinking, so please don't take any offense at my writing style http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

computer guy
01-15-2008, 08:33 PM
Thanks, will continue to search the forums.
I will be powering from power supply so no power problems.

Might have to heat sink it then. Will have to see.

Thank you simonl http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Check out my robot using the propeller RECONAUTOR (http://robot.tmcp.com.au)
If you like my avatar then check this out Propeller Domed Sticker (http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=701193)

computer guy
01-15-2008, 08:42 PM
Ok I found these.

http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=621718

http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=658540

They imply that it can be done, so I will proceed. Might even try to write a driver, whilst learning assembly. http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

Hope they aren't to expensive.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Check out my robot using the propeller RECONAUTOR (http://robot.tmcp.com.au)
If you like my avatar then check this out Propeller Domed Sticker (http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=701193)

QuattroRS4
01-16-2008, 01:16 AM
Computer Guy - I have used both the XPORT ethernet and WiPort from lantronics ... I used a dedicated 3.3v reg (common ground) to supply the units as they are a bit power hungry ... interestingly I just recently posted a thread about a dual channel switched mode regulator I.C - which I will be using on a controlboard (http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=701373) featuring both a DigiConnect Me (www.digi.com/products/embeddedsolutions/digiconnectme.jsp (http://www.digi.com/products/embeddedsolutions/digiconnectme.jsp)) and a digi connect WI ME (www.digi.com/products/embeddedsolutions/digiconnectwime.jsp (http://www.digi.com/products/embeddedsolutions/digiconnectwime.jsp)) - both are very similar to the Lantronics product except that the WI ME is in a tidier form factor. Just a cautionary note: the Lantronics WiPort average current·consumption is approx. 400mA but it peaks at approx. 650mA !

Hope this helps..

Regards,
John Twomey

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
'Necessity is the mother of invention'

Post Edited (QuattroRS4) : 1/15/2008 5:27:25 PM GMT

computer guy
01-16-2008, 06:17 AM
QuattroRS4,

Thank you, I think I will use the WiPort, I like the features and the look. http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/smile.gif
Interesting regulator, I like the 1.4A without heatsink.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Check out my robot using the propeller RECONAUTOR (http://robot.tmcp.com.au)
If you like my avatar then check this out Propeller Domed Sticker (http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=701193)

Steel
01-16-2008, 07:39 AM
I came close to implementing a design using one, but I couldn't convince myself over the $100 pricetag.

computer guy
01-16-2008, 07:43 AM
The Australian reseller is about to order in the MatchPort AR. It has larger pins for easier mounting and more features so I might get that instead. Will keep you up to date on my project.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Check out my robot using the propeller RECONAUTOR (http://robot.tmcp.com.au)
If you like my avatar then check this out Propeller Domed Sticker (http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=701193)

computer guy
02-04-2008, 04:05 PM
The Integration Guide for the Matchport has examples for serial connections to a pc that have a rs232/rs485 Xcvr in them.
It has three pins TXD, RXD and RTS.
When connecting it up to the prop can I just connect it straight through or would I need a Xcvr.

If I don't need a Xcvr would I need to use pullups at least.

Thank you http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Check out my robot using the propeller RECONAUTOR (http://robot.tmcp.com.au)
If you like my avatar then check this out Propeller Domed Sticker (http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=701193)

Post Edited (computer guy) : 2/4/2008 8:29:39 AM GMT

stevenmess2004
02-04-2008, 04:29 PM
Shouldn't. The features page says that it is 3.3 volts so it should be fine. I don't think that you will need the pullups either but I'm glad to be corrected.

Steven

computer guy
02-04-2008, 04:31 PM
Thanks Steven.
That makes me happy.
Less components means less space taken up on the pcb. http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Check out my robot using the propeller RECONAUTOR (http://robot.tmcp.com.au)
If you like my avatar then check this out Propeller Domed Sticker (http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=701193)