PDA

View Full Version : Dual voltage (3.3 and 5) voltage regulator for Solderless breadboards



parts-man73
01-13-2008, 10:52 AM
Here's something I've designed that would be very handy for prototyping Propeller projects on a solderless breadboard.

Since the Propeller requires 3.3 VDC and some other devices are only available as a 5 volt part. I decided to design a plug in regulator module for solderless breadboards that supplies both. It plugs into the breadboard for simple set up.

Great for the Propeller Education kit!

See it here - ucontroller.com/indexmisc.html (http://ucontroller.com/indexmisc.html)

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Brian

uController.com (http://uController.com) - home of SpinStudio

PropNIC (http://uController.com) - Add ethernet ability to your Propeller!

SD card Adapter (http://uController.com)

Frobozz
01-13-2008, 02:35 PM
Nice. I've seen a couple of these online but yours is the first to handle both 3.3 and 5.0 volts at the same time.

wastehl
01-13-2008, 03:56 PM
Can you advise the power output of this board, I could not find it in the documentation...

Thanks, bill

Coley
01-13-2008, 04:30 PM
Great Idea Brian!

parts-man73
01-14-2008, 01:56 AM
@ Coley & Frobozz - Thank you for the positive feedback - it's something I've seen a need for, with the Propeller especially, but there are other 3.3V microcontrollers out there as well.


wastehl said...
Can you advise the power output of this board, I could not find it in the documentation...

Thanks, bill


The total maximum current between both 5 volt and 3.3 volt channels is 1 amp. But that assumes a reasonable voltage drop (7-9 VDC input is preferred) and the addition of proper heatsinks. The 3.3 volt channel has a 500 mA max. The 5 volt regulator feeds the 3.3 regulator, thus the 1 amp "total" limit.

Should be adequate for most hobbyists.

*** edit - these figures will be added to the documentation sometime today.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Brian

uController.com (http://uController.com) - home of SpinStudio

PropNIC (http://uController.com) - Add ethernet ability to your Propeller!

SD card Adapter (http://uController.com)

wastehl
01-14-2008, 02:43 AM
Thanks, that will be adequate for us, I am going to order a couple and check them out. Our system has good ventilation fans, which helps as well. We are using Bean's Prop Dongles to pulse
four 220 amp Mosfets so we were cautious concerning heat from the beginning. This is a good idea, I'll let you know how it works out...

Thanks for the quick response, Bill

parts-man73
01-15-2008, 01:18 PM
The documentation has been updated with schematic and specifications.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Brian

uController.com (http://uController.com) - home of SpinStudio

PropNIC (http://uController.com) - Add ethernet ability to your Propeller!

SD card Adapter (http://uController.com)

mosquito56
01-18-2008, 02:55 AM
Bri, I would recommend moving it from misc parts to the main page. Since Misc only has 1 item. I missed it there and now get to pay double S+H but not complaining. Great service.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Hmm, "What do you mean, it doesn't have any tubes?"

иииииии "No such thing as a dumb question" unless it's on the internet
ииииииии"What happens in Vegas ends up on the Internet"

Technologically challenged individual, Please have pity.

parts-man73
01-18-2008, 04:51 AM
A good suggestion, I would like people to see them. You can't sell something that no one knows you have.

I really wanted to separate into catagories.
Spinstudio boards
Misc things (only 1 now as you pointed out, but eventually I want to add things like connectors, loose ICs and maybe PropPlugs and extra Propellers)
A new catagory will spring up soon, as I designed a product similar to SpinStudio for PICs, that can use some of the SpinStudio Modules


perhaps I need to redesign the website to better showcase my wares

Thank you for the suggestion!

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Brian

uController.com (http://uController.com) - home of SpinStudio

PropNIC (http://uController.com) - Add ethernet ability to your Propeller!

SD card Adapter (http://uController.com)

mosquito56
01-18-2008, 05:47 AM
иWhen your inventory goes over about 50 items(hopefully soon) then you will have to split them up. With only 10 items or so, I could look at everything in about 2 min. The first time I visited your site I checked the misc and thought "I can do this myself why bother" and turned off the misc page in my brain. Reading hundreds of pages a day that info took as "Useless" and I just ignored it.

и Make sure to put a banner any time you add something as well as the forum. That's how I found the power supply when I was reading someone elses new post about it.

Have a proping day!!

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Hmm, "What do you mean, it doesn't have any tubes?"

иииииии "No such thing as a dumb question" unless it's on the internet
ииииииии"What happens in Vegas ends up on the Internet"

Technologically challenged individual, Please have pity.